Home Every person in the Bible Genealogy of Jesus Kings of Judah, Israel Read KJV here Research What must I do to be Saved? Contact

The twelve apostles

Jesus' apostles are listed at five places in the Bible. The listings are slightly different, and here is how they can be reconciled: (The persons listed in the same row are the same.)

Mat 10:2-4 Mark 3:16-19 Luk 6:14-16 John 1:40-45 Act 1:13  
Simon, who is called Peter Simon he surnamed Peter Simon, (whom he also named Peter,) Simon the son of Jona: thou shalt be called Cephas Peter
Andrew his brother Andrew Andrew his brother Andrew, Simon Peter's brother Andrew
James the son of Zebedee James the son of Zebedee James   James
John his brother John the brother of James; and he surnamed them Boanerges John   John
Philip Philip Philip Philip Philip
Bartholomew Bartholomew Bartholomew   Bartholomew
Thomas Thomas Thomas   Thomas
Matthew the publican Matthew Matthew   Matthew
James the son of Alphaeus James the son of Alphaeus James the son of Alphaeus   James the son of Alphaeus
Lebbaeus, whose surname was Thaddaeus Thaddaeus Judas the brother of James   Judas the brother of James
Simon the Canaanite Simon the Canaanite Simon called Zelotes   Simon Zelotes  
Judas Iscariot Judas Iscariot Judas Iscariot      

Some people identify Nathanael with Bartholomew. The basis of their reasoning is that Nathanael occurs only in the Gospel of John while Bartholomew is never mentioned in that book. Since there is otherwise no scriptural evidence of them being the same person, they are listed separately here.

In Acts 1:26 the remaining 11 apostles selected Matthias as the 12th apostle in place of Judas Iscariot.

Copyright © 2005 complete-bible-genealogy.com All rights reserved.